Take care of your body. It’s the only place you have to live.” ~ Jim Rohn
Did you know that....according to the Canadian Celiac Association, about one in 133 Canadians suffers from celiac disease.
So what is Celiac disease? It is a digestive disorder that damages the small intestine and interferes with the absorption of nutrients from food. People with celiac disease are unable to tolerate gluten, a protein in wheat, rye, and barley.
Symptoms Common symptoms of celiac disease include bloating, fatigue, anemia, chronic diarrhea, weight loss, cramps, and irritability.
Diagnosis/Tests If you think that you may have celiac disease...
BE YOUR OWN ADVOCATE!! Talk to your doctor right away!! They will order a simple blood test which can detect high levels of certain antibodies found in people with celiac. It's also common that your doctor will need to examine a part of your intestine. An endoscopy, inserting a tube through your mouth down to your stomach, or a colonoscopy, inserting a tube through your anus and is guided through your rectum and colon where a biopsy can be taken. This will determine if the villi have been damaged.
Treatment Celiac disease cannot be prevented and there is no cure but sticking to a very strict gluten-free diet can help minimize symptoms and heal intestinal damage and prevent further damage. Working with a dietician when you are recently diagnosed can help the patient learn to recognize products containing gluten.
ABC's OF GLUTEN FREE
Used as a thickening agent in gluten free. Makes for yummy gravies.
Could indicate a product that contains gluten. Unless you know where the color comes from don't eat it.
All other yeasts are gluten free, Brewer's is not.
BROWN and WHITE RICE FLOURS
Always keep these on hand for cooking and baking.
Barley is used to make malt which is used in the production of many beers and distilled alcohols.
Another additive that can be made from barley malt. Some caramel colorings are safe. Read the label or check with the manufacturer.
A digestive disorder that causes a toxic reaction to gluten, the protein found in certain grains like wheat, rye and barley.
Is a procedure that enables a gastroenterologist to evaluate the inside of the colon. The tip of the colonoscope is inserted into the anus and then is advanced slowly into the rectum and through the colon usually as far as the cecum, which is the first part of the colon.
Can be produced from corn, potato, rice, tapioca, arrowroot or wheat. You shouldn't buy a dextrin containing product unless you know its source.
Synonymous with wheat. Stay away!!
Is a procedure that uses a lighted, flexible endoscope to see inside the upper GI tract. The upper GI tract includes the esophagus, stomach, and duodenum—the first part of the small intestine.
Filled with what? Unless you know, stay away.
Also means wheat.
Can be made from wheat, potatoes or corn. Check the source.
A gluten-free diet is a diet completely free of ingredients derived from gluten-containing cereals: wheat (including kamut and spelt), barley, rye, and triticale, as well as the use of gluten as a food additive in the form of a flavoring, stabilizing or thickening agent....
HYDROGENATED SOYBEAN OIL
Does not contain gluten.
HYDOLYIZED PLANT OR VEGETABLE PROTEIN (HVP or HPP)
These additives can be made from corn, soy, peanuts, rice, casein or wheat. These are commonly found in hot dogs, canned foods.
A member of the wheat family, contains gluten
MALT or MALT FLAVORING
Made from barley and often found in cereals, candies and cookies....NOT gluten free!!
It's name is confusing but this doesn't contain malt or gluten.
Not to be confused with malt or malt flavoring. This is made from potatoes, rice or corn. It is gluten free by regulation but make sure when considering import products.
MODIFIED CORN STARCH
Can be made from corn, tapioca, potato or wheat but in North America corn is almost always used. Alot of times the source will be in parenthesis.
Unless you are allergic to MSG you don't have to worry. It is made from molasses or sugar beet.
It is too vague. Run! Smoke flavouring is a big no-no too!!
Oats are always up for debate. The Canadian Celiac Association Professional Advisory Board, in consultation with Health Canada, recommend on using pure, uncontaminated oats. It says that adults with celiac can safely consume half to three-quarters of a cup (50 to 70 grams) of dry rolled oats per day. For children, it’s one-quarter cup (20 to 25 grams) per day.
The problem is that most oat products in the grocery stores have been cross-contaminated with wheat, barley and rye, which occur during harvesting, transportation, storage, milling, processing and packaging.
Make sure you purchase oats that are grown on dedicated fields and equipment and packaged in specific gluten-free facilities, like Bob's Red Mill
A tiny seed that is a powerful source of protein and other essential nutrients like magnesium and iron. It is very easy to cook and has a nice and rich nutty flavour.
Loaded with Vitamins B and E, fiber and minerals. Add it to your baking, cereal or smoothies but keep it in the fridge.
Is closely related to wheat, it has a higher fiber and lower gluten content. Used to make pumpernickel, rye beers, some whiskies and vodkas.
It is a poorly absorbed sugar alcohol and is used in many sugar free products. It is terrible for you but it is gluten free. Many celiacs don't react well to it.
Usually means it is made from cornstarch. If another starch is used the regulations predict that the company must disclose what kind of starch they used.
A gluten free grain as long as it's sold in it's natural state.
Made from soybeans. Gluten free as long as it's sold in it's natural state.
Is a hybrid of wheat and rye. Grown in areas where wheat is difficult to grow.
This is a unique substance commonly found in food, cosmetic and industrial additives. It falls under the category of polysaccharides (a class of carbohydrate) and is usually produced by fermentation process. During fermentation, a strain of bacteria (Xanthomonas campestris) is added to glucose or sucrose (i.e. corn sugar). This turns them into gum.
Read all labels carefully. NEVER, NEVER eat a packaged food or meal if you don't know what's in it....